Morning at Noon

February 23, 2007 at 6:16 pm 5 comments

Part of this whole fellowship business has me waking up between 12-12:30 in the afternoon and working on projects until 4:30 in the morning. This seems to be my natural “nothing else to do” schedule. And yet there is some faint guilt about not being up with the birds and burning sphere.

When I was in elementary school one of the most uninteresting lunches was called “breakfast for lunch” in which everyone was served a sausage or two and maybe a little bit of egg, with a waffle drizzled in antediluvian syrup for good measure. There may have been a cardboard hashbrown. In many ways these prison rashions prepared me for the life of crime I am now leading.

What the august band Queensryche has called “mindcrime.” While I could not be less interested in murdering nuns (there’s a new mindcrime where this reading of the old mindcrime is problematized, but I’m struggling to garner enough interest to listen to it–Ronnie James Dio as Dr. X is almost a sufficient blandishment), I do spend my time arranging books that I’m going to read when I get out of prison. You know, the old “mind forged manacles” and such.

Maybe I just need to take a shower? Sounds revolutionary. Here’s what’s on the burner today: I’m going to finish the aforementioned Pizer anthology and put up some tasty bits before the night/morning is out.

Maybe that’s better than taking Howells and Henry James to bed?

Entry filed under: food, metal, Pizer, Sleep.

Hello world! Pizer’s Documents

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. skunkcabbage  |  February 23, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Actually, Howells would make sure everyone had an even share of the bed, while James would steal the covers.

    Reply
  • 2. anaj  |  February 23, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Queensryche is still around? I don’t really know their music, I only recall that one of my class mates when I was 16 had a t-shirt with their name on them. Of course he was the headbanger of the class (and I think I was in love with him). He’s said to be an alcoholic now or having other emotional problems.

    Does fellowship refer to your teaching position?

    Reply
  • 3. skunkcabbage  |  February 24, 2007 at 8:12 am

    Queensrych is still around:
    http://www.queensryche.com/

    Also see formerly underground Heavy Metal Parking Lot documentary:

    Everybody was in love with that guy.

    Jetsam and I each get a funded “fellowship” semester where we don’t have to teach as a reward for passing our preliminary exams.

    Reply
  • 4. anaj  |  February 24, 2007 at 8:23 am

    That sounds like another good thing about your PhD Program: preliminary exams. A few doctoral programs in Germany/Austria beginning to introduce PhD curriculums, but very few. Meaning that most of the time, you are working on your own and at your own pace, which often means that progress is scarce or unnoticeable. Certainly no exams.

    Sforza with your months off teaching!

    Reply
  • 5. skunkcabbage  |  February 24, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I had a Russian Professor who used to explain how lucky I had it here with exams and what not. I imagine floating in the aether would be quite anxious.

    Ha! I wish everyone had months off to work on their own projects.

    For now my project must be sleep.
    goodnight

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



