Snowbound Bungler

February 26, 2007 at 12:51 am 8 comments

I’ve not managed to do a very good job of much of anything yet today. I’m only getting to blogs late and for some reason my extended snow-covered walk by the river has given me a chill. I think there was a toddy recipe on jetsam’s blog I may have to visit.

Still at work, er, am going to be at work on the next Pizer post. Some reading to follow this evening.

Dinner of local trout and peppercorn shrimp in linguini. Sometimes I’m surprised at the good things I’m eating while wintering here with my parents.  A few short months ago I was peanutbutter king of Chicago. Now, I’m the small-game Duke of Dalmatia. Well, Dalmatia’s a lttle ways away, but there should be an alliterative title for my well-stocked stomach.

Anaj has a cool Lent banner. I feel like I need to somehow make a cool at home in Pennsylvania banner.

And maybe another for when I’m in Houston next week. For now though, back to my Cambridge Companion.

Skunk: “Dear Companion, wither shall we wander?”

Companion: “How now Cabbage? Not work today?”

Skunk: “Forsooth and wither the snow is too bither.”

Companion: “Tis better to thaw with vermouth.”

A tale oft told in my youth.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Strange Hours Academy Awards

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:31 am

    Trout with peppercorn shrimp and linguini – I feel embarassed to ever have mentioned my rice with pepper and garlic….

    Go for the banner, I thought today as well: Hey, this banner thing works well. If you need some HTML help I can mail the code to you (for formatting the HTML in such a way that the text appears to the right of the image.

    Reply
  • 2. skunkcabbage  |  February 26, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Please don’t feel embarassed. I had absolutely nothing to do with the above meal. My father, when not working on clocks, is out fishing. I’ve agreed to filet whatever he brings back. The shrimp come pre-peppercorned, and the linguini comes in a box with a seasoning packet. Everything gets thrown together and there you have it.

    I love the simplicity of rice with garlic and pepper. It seems like comfort food to me.

    Very much appreciate the offer of code help. I’m really a novice when it comes to doing more than reading things online and submitting forms. I may fool around and see if I can find something like a fitting picture, but in the meantime Pizer guilt is pointing me toward a book. The picture of Ellen that I posted changed, I guess because they changed the source picture.

    I need to maybe get a hold of some basics before I move on to more advanced (though probably basic for most people) tricks of the trade.

    As an aside, I just want to mention that I really appreciate your generosity with sharing helpful ideas, and your regular thoughtful comments.

    Reply
  • 3. anaj  |  February 26, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    It’s comfort food indeed, and it takes 12 minutes to prepare if you have an Iranian rice cooker (you are probably not allowed to have these in the US, they come with Arab script on them, could be a message for a sleeper) (do Americans get a lot of these jokes?) and good Basmati rice. it all goes into the same pot (in the rice cooker). No MSG in there.

    Your comments are greatly appreciated as well:-) Will go to bed now. Cranked out another job application tonight. The more the better.

    Reply
  • 4. skunkcabbage  |  February 27, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Congrats on getting the application out! I hope the process is as little painful as possible.

    Unfortunately I don’t have an Iranian rice cooker, though I suspect I would very much benefit if I did. I love Basmati rice. So good.

    A message for a sleeper cell? I don’t know if we get a lot of these jokes or not, though they are amusing in a grim kind of way. I do know that we’re ripe for satire–and I know that I wish I could get an Iranian rice cooker. Maybe when I get back to Chicago.

    It’s scary over here. Every night on the news it seems like “new stockpiles of Iranian weapons” are “discovered” in Iraq. I have a sick feeling about it. Looks so much like the propoganda before 2003.

    The Justice (ha!) department is firing states attorney’s of the wrong political stripe–an unusual lucubration which portends perhaps a fear that these attorneys would try to bring some of the current criminal administration to trial. Very much a creeping facism.

    And on that happy note, I hope you’ve had a good night. I should head to bed soon myself.

    Reply
  • 5. anaj  |  February 27, 2007 at 11:14 am

    You know – shortly after 9/11, I received DOZENS of photoshopped jokes about 9/11 – I later asked an American friend whether she had received any – but apparently there was nothing of that type in her mailbox. I thought that was odd, because it was really a flood. Unfortunately, I did not keep them (or rather, kept them, but on my old computer, which is dead now and deserves to be dead beacuse it was a PC and not a mac:-)

    I guess the latest suicide assassin didn’t improve the situation much. I wonder what would have happened if Cheney got could. Would it lead to another military intervention? As though Cheney’s life was worth more than that of any other soldier?

    Reply
  • 6. skunkcabbage  |  February 28, 2007 at 12:24 am

    oh, hey–you use a mac too, cool. It’s wierd and disquieting how insular the US is. I received no 9/11 jokes, either.

    It seems like the regime in the US needs little provocation to continue killing people in its terror war. Certainly Cheney’s life is worth no more than any soldier, or any Afghani or Iraqi lives, either.

    A poll today has popularity for the war in Iraq at a new low. 53% of Americans want immediate withdrawal of US forces. Apparently there are going to be regional talks between Iran, Iraq, and Syria with the US “present.” I don’t mean to be optimistic, but maybe some diplomatic accord will mean less people have to die?

    Reply
  • 7. anaj  |  March 1, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    I must go through my back-ups, maybe I ‘ll find some of those jokes again, I think I saved them at the time.

    Let’s put our hope on diplomacy meanwhile (really, world politics scare me).

    Reply
  • 8. skunkcabbage  |  March 2, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    Sounds good. World politics is scary. The dissertation sometimes provides a welcome respite from world news.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



