Avatars

March 4, 2007 at 2:54 pm 4 comments

My newly uploaded avatar is a bit dark. What you see probably looks like two people dancing; that would be Pearl and I. I met Pearl one evening in a Polish working-class bar (where they still feed you for free and the bartender buys you a beer, it seems, every other beer, and then for the road). Pearl taught me how to polka and told me about how Division street in Chicago used to be all Polka Halls, where frequently they’d have a big band on one floor and a polka band on another. And you could dance down the street. More recently she’d decided that rather than find herself in a “rest” home, she’d find herself at the bar in her neighborhood, which makes perfect sense to me. I’ve never been so thoroughly outdanced. She explained that that’s all right. It’s really a problem with men, generally, and I was doing fine. It was pleasant to think that she might have been saying the same thing to some fellow 50 years ago, on Division street.
Polka Lesson

Entry filed under: bars, Chicago, Polka.

Pizer’s Companion, Part 4 Yellow Wallpaper, Gold Standard, Half of Introduction

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  March 5, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Hey! That is a beautiful picture, and polka is a cool dance. The last time I danced it is about 18 years ago though, in a tent pitched for the parish fair (Kirmes?) at probably half past three in the morning, presumably drunk. I don’t think that I thoroughly enjoyed it (it’s sad what teenage angst can do to people) but I’d like to think of myself as having enjoyed it. Which proves that the funs only begins once you hit 70:-)

    Maybe you can embed it properly? You need to use the link button, paste this URL

    and then insert width = 500 (remove the spaces before and after =, make sure there is a space before width and following 500) into the tag, i.e. right before the final /

    Reply
  • 2. skunkcabbage  |  March 5, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Hey, that’s great!!! Thank you! Much better. It’s cool to learn how to do something. Now I need to learn how to put up songs like, well, “The Pennsylvania Polka.”

    Polka is a funny thing. My father, who grew up with it in the house all the time is allergic to it. Whereas my brother Frank and I love nothing better than finding it at a bar. It’s quite fun, and in fact, that’s how I met Pearl.

    At another bar, the bartender bought us a round to stop playing polkas, as he was concerned about business.

    In any event, if Pearl is an indication, there’s much to enjoy past 70.

    Reply
  • 3. anaj  |  March 6, 2007 at 7:17 am

    Btw, I’d recommend to upload photographs directly to http://www.flickr.com from where you can grab the URL; flickr lets you upload 100MB amonths, with WP you have a total of 50MB.

    Reply
  • 4. skunkcabbage  |  March 6, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks, that’s another good recommendation. I need to get a digital camera and set up a flickr account.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



