Local-Color

March 28, 2007 at 11:17 pm 9 comments

I seem to be forever putting up teaser posts, these days. “Coming to a cabbage near you.” Here’s today’s: I will soon have a post on Donna M Campbell‘s Resisting Regionalism. What is regionalism?

I’m also excited because anaj put me on to Alfred Doblin. I’m going to be reading his Berlin Alexaderplatz over my “lunch break” everyday. This gives me something to look forward to. There will be a post on it, naturally, when I’m finished. Of course if I limit myself to reading it over lunch, it may take awhile.
In other good news, Cerebral Jetsam has a new post–to which I’m headed now. Care to join me?

Guantanamo Banner

Entry filed under: Alfred Doblin, Berlin Alexanderplatz, local-color, regionalism.

Alternate Histories Regionalism, Local Color, and Donna M. Campbell

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  March 29, 2007 at 6:22 am

    You cut post little bits and pieces about regionalism or Döblin, then we wouldn’t have to wait so long. And I need to keep up with Jetsam’s analysis of capitalism.

    So many things, so little time.

    Reply
  • 2. anaj  |  March 29, 2007 at 6:22 am

    I should PREVIEW before I submit: You could post…

    Reply
  • 3. skunkcabbage  |  March 29, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    That’s a good point. I think I was doing that with Michaels posts for awhile. For some reason I seem to think I should consolidate things. Or maybe I’m trying to make myself read faster by holding up substantive posts. I’ll switch to the daily format by putting up a post before bed tonight.

    Reply
  • 4. whetted  |  March 29, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I’m glad anaj mentioned Döblin as well. I had only seen Fassbinder’s length, but amazing, adaptation of the novel. I have put it on my to-read list. Sadly these days that list is growing way, way too long! Perhaps I’ll do what you said and read it during lunch breaks or before bed time. It sounds like an amazing and important work á la Proust or Musil.

    Reply
  • 5. skunkcabbage  |  March 30, 2007 at 2:36 am

    It would be very cool to have a group of folks reading Doblin. There’s also time with the first coffee, or tea and madeleine. 😉

    I had started the project of reading through Proust a few years ago when I arrived in Chicago and didn’t know anyone. I loved Swann’s Way but haven’t yet made it back.

    Reply
  • 6. whetted  |  March 30, 2007 at 6:09 am

    Proust is worth the trek (and the re-trek).

    I think perhaps starting a Döblin group would be a good, productive idea. I’d also really love to see how people, after reading the book, would rethink the Fassbinder. Criterion is re-releasing it soon, I know.

    Reply
  • 7. skunkcabbage  |  March 30, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    I like the Doblin-Fassbinder idea. Let’s do it. My copy of Berlinplatz is supposed to arrive today. If only I can put off lunch that long!

    Reply
  • 8. whetted  |  March 30, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Ack! I’ll have to get on it then and order a copy myself! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. skunkcabbage  |  April 1, 2007 at 3:12 am

    Hurray! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



