ya tvoy rabotnik

April 24, 2007 at 2:50 pm 6 comments

Part of what I enjoy about Kraftwerk is their unstable-inhumanity. An ambiguous additive to the jerk and prod of mechanized alienation, I’m not sure whether to laugh, cower, or dance. Is this fascist spectacle, or merely an end-logic of terminal adaptation?

W e a r e t h e ro bo ts?
Guantanamo Banner

Entry filed under: music, Uncategorized.

we hold these truths to be self evident sympathy with bob

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  April 24, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I find their ambiguity occasionally intriguing, although I am more inclined to consider it fascist spectacle. The idea of an audience that ends up cheering on four mechatronic puppets is making me SICK.

    I am not so sure what you mean by ‘end-logic of terminal application’?

    Reply
  • 2. skunkcabbage  |  April 24, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I guess by end-logic I have in mind something like the cessation of reason that seems coterminous with the adaptation or cooptation by/with/to (all the prepositions seem like a soup) a computer terminal that is also a terminal as in end-of-the-line for a certain non-mechanized humanity.

    The mechatronic puppets are revolting. I hope they haven’t really made you sick. (sorry!)

    The progressive potential seems to reside in reading Kraftwerks’ puppets as a kind of realistic commentary on “freedom.” Like there isn’t any. I find them horrifying and sympathetic, not wholely disimilar to talking to people through cliche’s. All the human stuff, the ideosyncratic stuff, disappears in quotidian human white noise.

    How are you?
    Fine, and you?
    Fine.

    It’s the sort of thing that Adorno so frequently worries about.

    Reply
  • 3. anaj  |  April 25, 2007 at 5:53 am

    No, no, not really sick, and I am glad that I saw than – I didn’t know vicious Kraftwerk really are;-) One should probably applaud them for having created such a revelatory situation, but these days I feel more sorry for the betrayed audience (who came there to partake in a ritual, a communion between artist and them) than I would like to admire the cunning artist who exposes that these people make no difference between a human and a robot no more.

    Yes, I still don’t like this kind of human white noise. It used to put me terribly off ease as a teenager, because most of them time I was not fine and felt as if by asking, people forced me to admit not I was not, and that in a crowd of I-feel-fine-feelers.

    These days, I take it as a blunt lie:-)

    Reply
  • 4. anaj  |  April 25, 2007 at 5:55 am

    I need to proooooofread before I hit submit…

    No, no, not really sick, and I am glad that I saw that – I didn’t know how vicious Kraftwerk really are;-)

    …people forced me to admit that I was not, and that in a crowd of I-feel-fine-feelers.

    Reply
  • 5. anaj  |  April 25, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Btw, I keep singing the Wash Your Ass song to me – it’s horrible with songs written in another language than your own – you just lose the feeling for what is appropriate to be sung and what isn’t#-)

    Reply
  • 6. skunkcabbage  |  April 25, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I’m chuckling about non-chalantly singing the Wash Your Ass song. It’s quite addictive. I’m beginning to think I may need to put warnings before certain posts: Reader Please be Advised: The following song will remain in your head a minimum of 2 days!

    It’s too bad that the I-feel-finers aren’t simply remanded to our pasts. Asking how are you is (sometimes?) akin to saying I’m not interested enough to ask a more specific question about your state of affairs. I want a quick answer and not to have my life (which is more important) held up by too much of yours.

    Or worse, it assumes that you have no state of affairs unlike anyone else. The naturalization of banality as an adequate approach to interacting with the divinity of living human beings. I don’t mean to go on and on about it, but seems like everyday I feel imprisoned to some extent by the forms of interaction. It is very much like filling out forms. The parameters are all set, and anything too sincere is inappropriate. Better, perhaps, wash my ass and keep quiet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



