Meta

May 13, 2007 at 5:13 pm 8 comments

cabbage field

I feel like I’ve become modestly alienated from my own blog lately. I very much enjoy reading anaj, jetsam, and whetted amongst others, but I’ve found that the purpose of “cabbage” has been drifting.

If you were to go back through my posts you’d see that initially they were for the most part concerned with American literary naturalism. I thought that the blog would be a good space to keep some notes and thoughts about things I’d read. This isn’t a bad practice, but as I’m spending more time organizing my notes and writing my dissertation proper, I find I’m spending less time typing blog entries.

So I’ve veered into politics and music. Cabbage: politics and music, or Act II. With these posts I’ve tended to write less and less, and that’s not so good either.

So what to do for act III? Well, I leave it up to you all, what have you liked or disliked? What would make cabbage a more pleasurable part of your day? One improvement would be frequently putting a new post up. I’ve had very limited success with this in the past.

I’ve now had this blog up for a couple months and want to thank you, whoever you are, for reading.

Guantanamo Banner

Entry filed under: blog, meta.

Zombie’s G(al)ore

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  May 13, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    I check your blog everyday, and I hope it’s not just a sign that I’ve lost my discriminatory abilities that I enjoy whatever comes. To some extent, I think, blogs are a just something like a signal, signifying that someone’s alive and doing something. While the idea to be a blogger who regularly comes up with substantial posts is of course appealing, I think it’s next to impossible to really achieve that if you have other things going on in your live as well. And a PhD thesis is a HUGE other thing, so chapeau to being able to blog at all!

    When I started blogging, I didn’t have a particular aim such as ‘I want to create a watchblog’ or ‘I want to write about the diaspora of a former city dweller in the countryside’. But I hoped that blogging and regular blogging would allow me to inscribe a certain regularity and irganizedness into me that I feel is sometimes missing. That has worked / does work to some extent, although I am often not happy with the quality of my own writing. Not true: If I think about it, I am often not happy with the quality of my own writing, but most of the time I think about it.

    Anyhow, I quite enjoy how one (thinks to) get(s) to know people through reading their blog, bot nonetheless, there are many blog which just don’t interest me. I don’t know what the formular would have to be to get me hooked, but reading your blog is definitely a perpetual source of enjoyment for me, so I guess that the formula as is is just right. I admit with a bad conscience that I don’t read all of the longer blogs as thoroughly as I should – I suppose I have the typical short attention span of a 30something who has been socialized on media:-(

    So no worries, just keep blogging and don’t worry about any target markets!

    Reply
  • 2. anaj  |  May 13, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    sorry for not proof reading once again:

    to inscribe a certain regularity and organizedness into me that I feel is sometimes missing. That has worked / does work to some extent, although I am often not happy with the quality of my own writing. Not true: If I think about it, I am often not happy with the quality of my own writing, but most of the time I don’t think about it (EDIT: any more).

    Reply
  • 3. skunkcabbage  |  May 13, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Thanks for the kind words! Knowing that people like yourself stop in for a visit everyday is encouraging, to say the least. And I’d like to add that reading your blog is likewise a daily source of enjoyment. I especially appreciate learning things about web 2.0 from you. What’s more, my celeb and media savvy is bolstered, and I’m still intending to write about Doeblin, sometime soon!

    I very much like your idea of blogs being something like a signal, signifying activity out there in the great world. It’s a bit like taking comfort in the changing scenery of a familiar locale.

    These sites and the changing of one’s own scenery become part of an organizational routine. I start my day with coffee and writing a piece of the dissertation. And then reward myself with checking blogs and sometimes putting up a post of my own. I’m not always delighted with the quality of my writing in either context, but it’s nice to have the gratification of sympathetic folks looking over my thoughts, or something I find stimulating.

    I’m very pleased to have had the opportunity to get to know you through your blog and comments in various places. It’s a bit funny, I can come across an article on web 2.0 or something and find myself saying, “Oh, anaj, would like this.” Although I’ve never met you, I feel like I have a sense of some of your interests. That’s pretty cool.

    And putting me onto Doeblin was wonderful reciprocity. I’m glad you’re out there, and take time to visit. 😀

    Reply
  • 4. whetted  |  May 13, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    I do check your blog, and read it of course, every day—or, at least, when you update. 🙂 I’m sorry if I’ve been distant, not commenting, etc. Since I’ve returned from traveling, I have been so busy, so, so busy with teaching and research that I haven’t even a meagre thought to lend to my own blog. I fear that, despite the enjoyment and outlet it allows me, it may become dormant as “real life” takes hold. But, of course, I will still read, and still keep up. I do hope things stabilise a bit for me and, time-wise, I have more freedom to pursue things and write about things on my own blog. Fingers crossed!

    Reply
  • 5. cerebraljetsam  |  May 14, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    you know i would read anthing you write, brother!

    but seriously: i think you should devote you blog completely to heavy metal and zombie studies. ha, ha! i would definitely read that every day.

    no, actually: one thing is tended to enjoy most are your weird anecdotes. so: write some stuff about pennsylvania. i have never been there, but from your and romero’s descriptions it sounds like such a magical place. so: metal, zombies and pennsylvania. i think that goes well together. 🙂

    and, yes, i agree. we should write someting on dawn!

    have you seen 28 weeks yet? given the genre conventions, this one has by far the best beginning of any zombie movie. fantastic!!

    Reply
  • 6. skunkcabbage  |  May 14, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    @whetted: No need to be sorry! I’m completely sympathetic. It’s nice to know that you’re out there, and I hope you’re able to soon enjoy a bit more freedom. I’ll keep my fingers crossed, too. 🙂

    @jetsam: metal, zombies, and PA it is! I’m intending to go to the Selinsgrove Speedway (http://www.selinsgrovespeedway.com/) and do some Mike Hill style reporting. I’ll get a disposable camera and maybe attempt to interview some locals. Last I was at the races, was when I was a wholly un-ironic 14 year-old local myself. Hee Hee! Should be fun.

    I’ve not seen 28 weeks, will probably go this weekend, but have been meaning to catch 28 days, first. (No pun intended). 😉

    Reply
  • 7. cerebraljetsam  |  May 15, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    so, that means you are attending a nascar race? that is so cool (in a scary way). i am entirely fascinated by that crowd and would love to do that as well sometime. looking forward to your (doubtlessly also scary) report. i like the mike hill idea–go underground in the nascar scene, win their trust and then kick a dent into the oval track with a good book. it seems to me the first step would be to buy one of those colorful jackets i see on nascar fans. you still have that mullet-wig?

    Reply
  • 8. skunkcabbage  |  May 15, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    nope, this time the mullet is real. it’s actually several steps down from nascar. primarily its sprint cars on a dirt track. about as redneck as you could care for.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sprint_car

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



