Bedtime with Bukowski

May 15, 2007 at 5:10 pm 10 comments

Entry filed under: Bukowski, poetry.

Zombie’s G(al)ore A List Poem

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  May 15, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    I read ‘Hollywood’ about a month ago, and admit that I like getting afflicted with the Bukowski virus, although I wouldn’t admit that with a conscious mind.

    Reply
  • 2. anaj  |  May 15, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    Did he say bearshit or beershit? If he really said beershit, then I am surprised of the internationality of this concept which used to be used in the circle of people I knew when I was 18. Bierschiss. Mainly used by males of course.

    Reply
  • 3. skunkcabbage  |  May 15, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Beershit. Yeah, somehow I’m not surprised by its international currency.

    There’s something about Bukowski. He’s a guilty pleasure. Sometimes a person just wants to read the poetry of an angry drunken mailman.

    Other times he comes across as a garden-variety philistine. And I get bored, pretty quick. There’s something very 70s in his poetry.

    I’d like Tarantino to direct a film about his life. For giggles, I’d make Tarantino pair up with Oliver Stone to do it.

    Reply
  • 4. cerebraljetsam  |  May 15, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Yep, occasionally very therapeutic, that Bukowski (in a very twisted way). A propos Bukowski film: have you ever seen _Barfly_ with Mickey Rourke and Faye Dunaway? It’s an autobiographical film written by Bukowski. One of the best endings in film history. Worth seeing. oh–here the wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barfly_%28film%29

    Reply
  • 5. anaj  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    The novel ‘Hollywood’ is mainly an autobiographical account or roman clef of the making of Barfly, with very badly disguised characters. Made me want to see some more movies directed by Barbet Schroeder. I’d be particularly interested in the Idi Amin documentary.

    Reply
  • 6. anaj  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Ha! Dict.cc says that a good translation of garden-variety would be Feld-, Wald- und Wiesen (whatever). Feld-, Wald- und Wiesenpostbote. I like that. Jetsam, would you say it works as a translation?

    Reply
  • 7. anaj  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Äh, Feld-, Wald- und Wiesenphilister…

    Reply
  • 8. anaj  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Btw, Ä looks like a smiley on stilts, don’t you think?

    Reply
  • 9. skunkcabbage  |  May 16, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    @jetsam: Nope, haven’t seen it, and this despite spending formative years working as a video-store clerk. I need to get Netflix (after the grand move) so that I can keep track of all the films I’d like to see. This dissertation stuff gets in the way of life.

    @anaj: It does look like a bit like a stilted smiley. 🙂 If you liked Hollywood, a friend of mine swears by another novel of his called Ham on Rye.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ham_on_Rye

    Reply
  • 10. anaj  |  May 16, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I’ve read it, it was my very first Bukowski novel, meaning that I had a very good start at reading Bukowski. Very unlike the rest of the novels he became famous with:-) I think every teen should read the book – puberty can hardly strike any harder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



