Guess Who’s Back

June 15, 2007 at 4:54 pm 9 comments

skunk cabbage
Just when phase 3 was nicely kicking in, I moved and have been more of less off-line for awhile. Well, finally, after the hiatus, I hope to be posting somewhat regularly again. Is this the 4th act?

Guantanamo Banner

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

On the Road Again Youth For Obama

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  June 15, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Hello hello and back again! Yes the forum was good – I even am in touch now with an editor to whom I may send a chapter (although I am not so sure whether I dare to, because the whole thing is far from completion, and I wonder when on earth I am supposed to be able to do complete it) and wrote again on the way back:-)

    What was phase three again? I am stuck in a 12 step model…

    Reply
  • 2. skunkcabbage  |  June 15, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    I think phase three was something like reader-response, or like you-call-it shots at a bar. Being in touch with the editor sounds potentially promising. Is the editor the kind who will correspond with helpful suggestions for revision, or simply interested in publishing a finished chapter?

    I’m very familiar with the general category of wondering when on earth. Have you moved yet?

    Reply
  • 3. cerebraljetsam  |  June 16, 2007 at 12:09 am

    aahhh…welcome back to our version of the second life, monsieur cabbage (I like to bestow it with a French pronounciation every once in a while). How is life in Pilsen treating you? They are just filming the new Batman movie up here, so it’s rather crazy outside (we actually just found out that it is in fact Batman after we talked to some people here at the coffee shop who are doing voiceovers for the film). Offers the potential to occasionally steal a muffin from one of the many catering tables that are standing around here, though.

    Reply
  • 4. anaj  |  June 16, 2007 at 9:12 am

    I don’t think I have worked my way up the ladder yet to have any one read and make suggestions – I am more in the stage where they are willing to consider if they might be inclined to read a finished novel, judging from the chapter! So I don’t think that much is going to come of it, but it’s a thought anyway.

    Will move in 1,5 to 2 months I think

    Reply
  • 5. skunkcabbage  |  June 16, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    @jetsam: It’s great to be back. Pilsen is bliss. Mexican polkas, margaritas, and more. Wow, batman, eh? I recommend kicking over the catering table while declaring yourself batman’s new arch-nemesis, Foucault Baguette!!!

    @anaj: Somehow, although you may have told me, (sorry) I didn’t realize you were working on a novel. I’d love to hear more about your project.

    Reply
  • 6. anaj  |  June 16, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    No, I don’t think I said so explicitly, because the whole project has grown into something out of control and I’ve divided it into two parts: one dwells on the impossibility of being an intellectual elite in capitalism (the protagonists have literature degrees and face life-threatening crises when ending up in PR and marketing) and the second part is currently a coming-of-age novel, actually an outlet for all the biographic references that my writing is teeming with (it’s an excerpt from the second part that got me invited though). So that’s the idea, but when will I ever finish it? You can either work on a novel and starve or work full time and starve from the inside.

    Reply
  • 7. skunkcabbage  |  June 17, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Yeah, starving or starving–nice choices. The novel itself sounds really interesting. Maybe jetsam and I can send you a care package: food, fair trade coffee, some local stuff.

    Sometime I’ll tell you about the horror of graduating in 98 with a literature degree and finding myself working at http://www.currid.com/.
    After stints at Waldenbooks, where they made me an “ASSistant manager” because I had a degree, and at CableTime where I sold short spots to farmers on local cable television stations. Grad school became ever more imperative.

    Which is to say, you’re novel sounds really great, and readily identifiable.

    Reply
  • 8. anaj  |  June 17, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Oh dear. I must interview about this one day, unless you are afraid to end up in a novel one day.

    Currid’s website alone gives away a lot of the horror that must be lurking inside (also, it is sooooo American – European websites of this category would more look like this: http://www.inverto.de/

    (actually, not so sure there is a difference).

    CableTime sounds evil… shuddder….

    Reply
  • 9. skunkcabbage  |  June 18, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I’m happy to interview. There’s some awful stuff I can share. When I was “bridging the technology gap” at Currid one of the “innovations” was working in the owner’s own home. I have much to say on this theme. It was truly a horror. Not to be coy, but it’s bad enough that I should probably send you an email rather than write about it in a public place.

    The European website looks more restrained. CableTime felt like the death of light. I was young and constitutionally predisposed to melodrama, so that probably didn’t help–but it was soulless sales. Not my cup of tea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



