Introductions and Departures

January 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm 5 comments

I’m headed back home to Chicago tomorrow. Leaving Pennsylvania marks the conclusion of the winter break, and feels like the true end to the prior year. I realize that I’m going to need to write the syllabus for my Introduction to Literature class soon.

Here’s what I’m going to teach:

1.) GerminalEmile Zola

2.) Sons and LoversD.H. Lawrence

3.) Book of the Dead – Muriel Rukeyser

4.) 1919John Dos Passos

5.) UnderworldDon DeLillo

So we’ll discuss labor (especially mining), literary naturalism, modernism, and post-modernism. Not a bad intro I hope.

Entry filed under: Chicago, Pennsylvania. Tags: .

Sounds of Silver Back in Chicago

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  January 11, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    So I’ve been following your blog for a year know – the last time you went, I think you had linguini, prepared in a rather posh way by your mom:-)

    Reply
  • 2. skunkcabbage  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    Ha! Yes, one benefit of being home is that my mom’s cooking is vastly superior to my modest efforts in Chicago. We had trout and venison the other evening, kind of like central Pennsylvanian surf and turf. A recent meal included pan-fried walleye (a sweet and mild fish) that my father caught from the near-by Susquehanna river. I think we’re headed to corn-fed grilled venison again tonight.

    In Chicago I’ll be back to eating peanut butter and jelly and Chinese take-out. Terrible diet. I need to work on that this year.

    Reply
  • 3. cerebraljetsam  |  January 12, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    That is the perfect diet for a Chicago winter, though–well, if you add Portillo’s hot dogs, Giordano’s pizza and finish it off with a lot of beer. 🙂
    Ooops, look at the time–just realized I’m due for another one of those meals.

    Reply
  • 4. anaj  |  January 12, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Peanut butter and jelly – that probably one of the evilest things in the world as a meal. Only to be beat – it’s the time of the season – by excess Christmas cookies.

    Btw, is making cookies a typical thing to do during Christmas time in the US? I have the feeling that Americans make cookies around the year…

    Reply
  • 5. skunkcabbage  |  January 13, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Hmmm, maybe some people bake cookies around the year. My mother only really bakes prior to Christmas. And then she bakes hundreds of delicious cookies. This year’s favorite: anisette. So perfect for dipping in coffee.

    @Jetsam: Thanks, I forgot to add beer, dogs, and pizza: three staples that can be taken for granted with any Chicagoan of our tax bracket. We call these “insulation”. Part of any hearty worker’s diet. I’m just hoping that they perfect that live-longer cell regeneration technology in Red Mars. I may perform a future archeology on my gizzard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



