club 6

January 22, 2008 at 9:25 pm 4 comments

Starting next Tuesday (I’m waiting until after I get back from Houston on Monday night) I’m going to begin running every morning at 6 AM with two local friends. The only caveat is that if it drops below 10 degrees we get a morning off.

The idea of a running team I’ll be letting down if I stay in bed should be a pretty strong motivator!! In a prior post I mentioned a decent new wave hair cut. This will only work if I shed a few pounds of winterweight. I will include an “—>” at the end of every post on days that I’ve managed to go running in the morning.

We’re not going to go terribly far, just a good serious half hour run to start the day. Then a shower accompanied by Ultra Dance 09 and my singing. Neighbors will like me.

Entry filed under: club 6, run. Tags: , .

Kucinich Campaign Update 1/21/08 Kucinich Campaign Update 1/29/08

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anaj  |  January 23, 2008 at 12:55 am

    A noble resolution. I’ll be watching out for those arrows!

    Reply
  • 2. cerebraljetsam  |  January 23, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    That’s a great idea (even though today was probably a day off) 🙂 Damn, it’s cold!

    Generally though, if you stick to it you will be able to experience a serious endorphine kick once your body gets used to running and wants to keep doing it. It’s a great thing to start the day with. I am running up here by the lake as well, but I can’t do it every day (knee problems). I try to run 5-6 miles every three days, which seems to be all my knees can take at this point (maybe I need to shed some winter weight). I wish I could go more often, though–it’s a lot of fun. Good luck on that resolution–you’ll enjoy it.

    Oh, and regarding the freezing temperatures. I’ve invested in Under Armor Coldgear–very much worth it, believe me. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. skunkcabbage  |  January 23, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    @anaj: Cool, thanks. That’s a little extra motivation.

    @jetsam: Yeah, when is this cold spell going to snap? I’d gotten used to the gradually warming Chicago winters. Until recently, it never seemed to get quite as cold as I remember in Manhattan.

    Thanks for the encouragement! Endorphins are a beautiful thing. Also thanks for the tip on the coldgear. It’s actually not as expensive as I thought it might be. So that’s a go, and hopefully so am I!

    Also to keep warm: In the tradition of the blood-dorm, I may have a “Spring is here if you want it” party in February. More details soon…

    Reply
  • 4. cerebraljetsam  |  January 25, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Nice–I like spring (and the title of the party also seems to restore a form of agency to grad student life to which seasons have become entirely inconsequential).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



