time slips

February 2, 2008 at 8:06 pm Leave a comment

I don’t usually use this blog to chat about my dissertation in progress. This is true for a number of reasons, among them a desire to be engaged away from the often painful experience of struggling with unruly writing about writers like Jack London. In other words, not discussing the diss is a kind of protection from exposing myself to more exposure than one already receives as a result of the myriad expectations engendered by a lengthy public project. Hello, committee! It’s also a way of not exposing myself to my own critique, which is ceaseless. How’s it going? Slowly. Sometimes the urge to explain becomes overwhelming. This is a bit banal (again, the critique rears its head), but I’m trying to re-engage with my work and maybe that opening out and sharing where I’m at and what I’m up to with it–taking a chance on feedback and solidarity–is a healthy and positive move on my part? I’m trying to figure out what’s emotionally useful, and where my blog is situated in that process.

A worrying voice tells me that this is self-indulgent. I’m not asking for sympathy, dear reader. Rather, I’m trying to bring you a worrisome piece of my life because it’s important to me. I’m hoping that my explanation will relieve the burden of containing myself in myself. There’s a relief to be had in exposure:

At my back I always hear
Time’s winged chariot hurrying near

(But you may be thinking that I’ve only talked about exposing myself and not actually done so?) As cliffhanger’s go, this one is wanting.


		
Entry filed under: dissertation.

Silly Fun yes we can

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



