Yeah, What’s Going On?

April 4, 2008 at 6:07 pm Leave a comment

Hellboy

Crack knuckles…

Okay, well, I’ve been away from the blog for a bit and found myself missing the missives. So back in action with some self-indulgence.

1.) Filmclub has been enjoying a few surreal films recently: Cronenberg‘s Naked Lunch, Cocteau‘s Blood of a Poet, and HPLHS Motion Pictures less surreal Call of Cthulhu.

2.) The hobbyist part of my personality (the parts are mostly integrated, but I preserve a modicum of distance for the more pungent bits) is engrossed by comics lately. I’m a regular reader of Fall of Cthulhu (notice a trend?), Black Panther, Uncanny X-Men, Hellboy and BPRD, and pleased to note that Vertigo just started putting out Harvey Pekar‘s American Splendor. The first issue of the latter includes an interlude in Chicago at the famed Margie’s Candies on Western. Mmmmm, grandpa’s turtle sunday, mmmmmm. It deserves a separate post, but those familiar with the Marvel universe may be aware that a Secret Invasion is under way. In the coming days I hope to provide incontrovertible evidence that John McCain is in fact a skrull. For starters consider his recent flip-flopping on whether “extreme interrogation,” i.e. torture, is permissible. I’d love any of my graphically capable readers to send me a picture of the McCain skrull.

3.) I blow off steam in the World of Warcraft, and steam about the ears when I have to reinstall the software (as in last night). I have a blood elf warlock named Dospassos and a Tauren druid named, ahm, Selinsgrove. They are levels 6 and 9 respectively.

4.) I’m still hammering out the Jack London chapter of the dissertation. Serious writing planned for this afternoon after a run and some lunch.

5.) I’ve got a stack of papers to grade on Zola‘s Germinal. Students interested in extra credit were directed to the Drinking Den.

—>

Entry filed under: self-indulgence. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

To Texas! The Hard and Painful Truth.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



